MR2 Croft 2016


Descriptions, regulations and registration for the MR2 formula.

Toyota MR2 Championship

The MR2 Championship is open to all normally aspirated versions of the Toyota MR2. Both UK and Japanese import models are permitted.


A Mk1 1.6l 4AGE 122BHP
B Mk2 2.0l 3SGE 158BHP / 172BHP
C Mk3 (Roadster/MR-S) 1.8l 1ZZFE 138BHP


Engines may only be prepared within the specifications laid down in Toyota's workshop manual. All engine internals must be standard or standard pattern parts and the factory ECU must be retained. Induction and exhaust systems are free (excluding manifolds).


Suspension is free but may not be adjustable, with the exception of anti-roll bars. Uprated dampers, lowered springs and polyurethane bushes may be used.


Brake disks must remain standard or standard pattern while brake pad material is free. Braided brake hoses may be used and ABS systems where fitted as standard may be retained.


Standard gearbox, gear ratios and final drive must be retained. Factory limited slip differentials may only be used on class C cars as these were standard equipment. No other class may use an LSD.


Wheels must be standard diameter, width and offset for each class of vehicle.


There are 15 rounds in the 2017 season spread across seven double-header race weekends, of which the best 13 count for the championship.