The Home of Affordable Motorsport

Since 1939

Spa 2

Club News

Back to news listing


Wed 23 Mar 2011

Offering some of the closest track action in motor sport and already guaranteed full grids at every meeting this year, the MR2 Championship is living proof of the popularity of exciting, no-frills racing. Toyota is pleased to support this unique national series for its mighty mid-engined MR2 as title sponsor for 2011.


Run by the 750 Motor Club, the championship features classes for all three generations of MR2 and continues to attract capacity fields. Such is the response this year, qualifying heats are anticipated in order to accommodate the number of drivers signing up to take part.


Toyota’s sponsorship of the series extends its support for UK motor sport, alongside its recently-announced backing for the Toyota Sprint Series and its support helping privateers with Avensis race cars to teams competing in the 2011 Dunlop MSA British Touring Car Championship.


Formula official Patrick Mortell said: "I'm delighted that Toyota have chosen to support the MR2 Championship. We’re proud to offer a great racing opportunity at a sensible cost, a package that’s attracting exceptional support from teams and drivers. Race crowds across the country can look forward to packed grids and hard-fought racing throughout the season.”


750 Motor Club Chairman Viv Ayres commented; “The decision of Toyota to become involved in grass roots motorsport is very exciting, and the 750 Motor Club is particularly proud to be associated with the world's largest motor manufacturer, we will work to make this a success for all.”


The Toyota MR2 Championship comprises three classes, for each generation of MR2/MR2 Roadster, running standard engines and transmissions. Not counting any qualifying heats, the series will be fought out over 13 races held across seven meetings.


Toyota MR2 Championship 2011 calendar


Date                             Circuit

17 April                        Brands Hatch

22 May                        Snetterton

12 June                        Mallory Park

3 July                           Donington

28 August                    Silverstone

25 September             Pembrey

9 October                     Donington